I said it last week, and I’m going to keep on saying it, and singing it from the rooftops (until they cancel it), I love Pushing Daisies. I didn’t watch last night’s episode until today – there’s so much Wednesday TV, Top Model makeover trauma, Gossip Girl, Bionic Woman, Dirty Sexy Money, the list is overwhelming – and although I remembered how much I had loved last week, I was ready to not love the second episode. It’s a little treacly, I thought to myself, and can they sustain the not kissing thing? Well it’s not, well not too, and they can, and cleverly.

I love the style of the show, the art direction, the camera work, the overall whimsicality. Ned (Lee Pace) and Chuck (Anna Friel) continue to have a chemistry full of sweetness, and they got to “kiss” through plastic and hold hands with a rubber glove. While the finding of ways round the obstacle (if he touches her, she dies) may get old, so far it’s sweet.

Once again, the supporting cast threatens to overwhelm the leads. Kristen Chenoweth stole the show with her rendition of “Hopelessly Devoted” sung to Digby the dog in lieu of his owner Ned (and the camera work again, amazing). The chemistry between Chenowith and Digby is equally as fabulous as that of the leads. Chi McBride is rising to the occasion for his role as Emerson Cod as well. Previously the shouty principal on Boston Public, McBride is playing a subtle blend of annoyance and sensitive metro-sexual who likes to craft.

The writing continues to blow me away. Lines like, “Olive didn’t want to know the truth, but her heart was so full it reached up and nodded her head,” and on Olive crying and Digby the dog licking her tears, “While Olive considered how much she loved Digby for paying attention to her when the pie maker would not, and Digby considered how much he liked salt…”

Pushing Daisies is a show about unrequited love. Ned, the pie maker, loves Chuck. Chuck loves Ned. They can never touch. Digby loves Ned, Ned loves Digby. They can never touch. Olive loves Ned, Ned doesn’t see her that way. Chuck misses her aunts, but they can’t know she’s alive. The aunts are trapped in their house, we don’t know yet what they love. It’s sad and lovely and funny and tearful. I can’t say it enough. Tell your friends, tell your enemies, tell your postman and butcher and local madame: WATCH PUSHING DAISIES!

