I can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to mentioning it, but I saw Enchanted last week and it was fantastic! Okay, well, it’s super cute and sweet, and yes it’s got flaws, but I grinned, I laughed, I wanted the soundtrack… and Amy Adams? I’m going to say it, it’s sappy but, she’s a revelation! What an actress. Emotionally available, sweet, cute; I thought the lighting could have been more flattering, but I think they were going for “real.”

The flaws:
As my pally Robin Jones pointed out on his blog, Sarandon‘s not who I think of for evil queen (she’s Janet, Dammit!). She was okay, but Streep or Close would have killed it.
Idina Menzel has a supporting role and no song. Let’s think about this, Idina Menzel, in a musical, with no song. She’s an okay actress, but it’s the voice you pay for. I can’t help wonder if there wasn’t a number cut; a duet with Amy Adams perhaps.
Plot-wise (and this’ll be a spoiler if you haven’t seen the movie yet) by the time the evil queen comes through to do her own bidding, it’s moot. Giselle has already fallen in love with Patrick Dempsey and doesn’t seem to want to return, meaning it’s unnecessary for the queen to poison her.
(A quick aside about Patrick Dempsey: sure he’s cute, but am I the only one who thinks he’s dull as dishwater?)

But those things are easily put aside. Amy Adams charmed the pants off me, as did the roaches, rats, and pigeons of New York City.

Another feather in the Evil Empire‘s hat.

