There have been, thank God, some great moments waiting tables through the years, but last night was especially good. I was busying around the burger joint, went over to a new table, “Hi, how are ya, blah blah blah.”  The guy had a black sketch pad/journal on the table, with a painted cover.  I said, “Hey, that’s cool, is it  a Baseman?”  He looked at me and said, “I am Baseman.”  I was blown away, and apologized, but fawned shamelessly.

He gave me a postcard to a show in he’s doing in Barcelona, and like a dork i asked him to sign it, explaining that i never do that, and shit on actors, but he’s Gary Baseman.

Anyway I served the rest of their meal like a normal person.   Blah blah blah.  At the end of it, while chatting with his – date?  girlfriend?  wife?- he was sketching with his pen on his placemat/menu.  When he was done he gave it to me and signed it. It’s a nekid girl floating across the menu.

Aaaah!

How freaking cool is that?
I promised if he came back i’d fawn less.

