Are you looking for a great summer read? Have a kid you’re trying to hook on a book? Loved Harry Potter, thought Twilight was eh, but you’re willing to suspend belief? Well I’ve got your summer series right here. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan.  I’m late jumping on this band wagon, the fifth and final book in the series was just published, but hey, now we don’t have to wait for the next one.  I’ve read them back to back to back, great summer page turners.

I don’t want to say too much, because there are too many good reveals in the first book, The Lightning Theif, and I don’t want to spoil them.  I’ll just say that it’s a modern take on Greek Mythology, has a male protagonist – for all you parents of boys who won’t read “girl” books – with a female best friend, is fast paced and fun, and will make you want to go pick up a copy of D’Aulaire for nostalga’s sake.  And if you’re not nostalgic for it because you never had it, go treat yourself!

