If you’re in LA run, don’t walk, over to the La Luz de Jesus gallery (through March 28th).  What a great show!  Over a hundred LA artists representing all sorts of media.  I won’t blather.  Here’s my favorites, and that’s saying something, because, the range was spectacular.

Jason Houchen – sculpted wood with burn etching and ink.

Liane Shih – Strangers from a Different Shore – acrylic, vintage tin, fabric, and polyfil.

Chris Roberts-Antieau – If I Had a Monkey – material applique

If I Had a Monkey detail.

Jessica Dalva – And Then, She Was Gone – sculpey, acrylic, fabric, paper, jewelry, fabric, and wire on board.

And Then, She Was Gone detail – look at the fabulous stitchy bird!!!

Sheri DeBow – Scarlet’s Locket – cernit clay over wire, mohair on birch.

Olga T. Mosqueda – Emergency – oil on Board

Brandon Steen – Stychin’ Time – Acrylic on canvas.  Look Spidey’s sewin’!! Reminds me a bit of an embroidery from Giddygirlie.

Leslie Ditto – The Wedding – oil on canvas.  This photo doesn’t come close to doing this piece justice.  It’s amazing!  And doesn’t that totally look like Hamish?

Both of the above are by Da Kim – cut paper, acrylic, and string on panel.  Again, the photos don’t do them justice.  The cutting and stitching is so delicate and precise. (I couldn’t find any web presence for the artist, if anyone knows anything about him/her, let me know.)

And finally

Ruel Pascual – Father’s Office – oil on wood.  I always love the sweet melancholy of Pascual’s work.

Then I went over to the Corita Center, but I’ll talk about that later.

