I am a huge fan of Agatha Christie.  I love the rhythm, the world, the fact that there’s always a solution.  I find that I read her novels as palate cleansers, between things, when I’m unsure what to read next, or there’s nothing really drawing me.  Sometimes, halfway through, I realize I’ve already read the one I’m reading, but because I pick them up used, it had a different cover, or was published later under a slightly different title.  I always finish them anyway.

There’s a terrific article about Christie in the latest issue of the New Yorker, and I had to share the accompanying photo, taken by Lord Snowdon in 1974.

Doesn’t she look just like Miss Marple?  And how fab are her dress (with it’s hidden panel of stitch work) and shoes?  And the necklace?? I would wear this entire ensemble, as is. Nu?

