I just wrote a letter to RuPaul’s Drag Race, which I pretty much love, but I’m having a serious problem, this season more than any other, with the use of the word, “fishy.”  Here’s what I wrote:

dear drag race,
i’m a huge fan of ru, drag, and freedom. i hate verbal abuse and bullying and have worked long and hard to help stop hate speech against the lgbtq community.
that all said as preamble, i’m finding i’m really offended, as a woman, by the constant use of the word fishy this season. smelling of fish has always been used as an insult against women, and for men (in dresses or not) to say, well she may be fish but… or i’m all fishy… is actually pretty misogynist. i’m sure no one intends it that way, but it is.
i’m not asking you to try and change the drag community, but the show is highly influential, and i hope you’ll seriously consider asking the girls not to use the term in future seasons (i’m sure this one is done, or almost done,filming). great replacements for fishy are girly, ultra fem, real girl realness… and i bet your clever writers could come up with a hundred more.
still watching, but getting offended, and i know ru is not short for rude.
thanks for taking the time to read this,
ellen schinderman

I don’t expect an answer, but I’d like to start this conversation.

Edit: I’m not the only one who feels this way. Here’s two earlier blog posts I found bringing up the same issue: Serving Fish: This One’s a Snapper! and Anyone’s Business: The Right to Fish.

